Constitution of board
The Tungabhadra project was taken up by then states of Madras and Hyderabad during February 1945. With the formation of Andhra State Act 1953, certain areas of the project of the right side of the river belonging to the then madras state were transferred to the then Mysore state and the project became a venture of the then states of Mysore, Andhra. This resulted in more than 55 percent of irrigated area on the right bank of the river falling in Andhra & the reservoir with the head reaches of the canal system lying in the state of Mysore .This situation warranted constitution of an independent body to look after the timely completion of the approved project, its maintenance and oversee distribution of benefits to the states.
Subsequently ,as per the Andhra State Act,1953,President of Indian was authorized to give directions for the completion of the project and its operation and maintenance there after .Accordingly, Under a presidential order, Tungabhadra Board was constituted with effect from 1st oct,1953 vide notification No DW II -22(129) Dated 29 th  sep,1953 of the then ministry of irrigation and power.
The Board constituted of chairman appointed by government of India  & six members were chief engineers of both irrigation and power department of the government  of Andhra, Mysore and Hyderabad .Chairman of the central water And power commission was appointed the chairman of the board  in addition to his normal duties .The board was entrusted with the task of completion of the Project and to deal with all matters relating to works, which were common to both the states of Andhra and Mysore.
The board was reconstituted with effect from 15 march, 1955 vide notification No DW VI (4) (9) Dated 10-3-1955 of the then Ministry of irrigation and power (copy at Annexure 2.1).The reconstituted Board consisted of a chairman appointed by the government of India, Andhra, Mysore and Hyderabad. After the reorganization of the states in 1956, the Hyderabad Government representative was deleted from Board vide Notification Np.39(25)/56 DW .VI dated 1.11.1056 of then ministry of irrigation and power.
Earlier the center line of the Tungabhadra River was the boundary on then states. With re-organization of states, the center line of river no more remained the boundary and the canal on the right bank meandered through the states of Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka
Present Composition Of Board
The present composition of the Tungabhadra Board is as follows:
Present Composition Of Board
Chairman(Nominated by GoI) Chief engineer, Krishna & Godvari Basin, central water commission, Hyderabad

Member (Representing GoI) Finical Adviser and joint Secretary ,Ministry of water Resources, New Delhi
Member (Representing GoAP) Engineer-in-chief, (Irrigation),Irrigation & CAD Dept., Hyderabad
Member (Representing GoT) Engineer-in-chief, (Irrigation),Irrigation & CAD Dept., Hyderabad
Member (Representing GoK) Secretary to government, Water Resources Department, Government of Karnataka, Bangalore.
Shri P.Ramachandra Rao,
Chairman,Tungabhadra Board and Chief Engineer(KGBO),
Central Water Commission,
Member of Government of India
Shri Sunil Kumar Kohli
Member of Government of Andra Pradesh :
Shri Aditya Nath Das
Member of Government of Karnataka
Shri B.G.Guruparaswamy
Function of the Board
The important functions of the Board, initially laid down were:
Completion of the construction of the sanctioned project;
Regulation of supplies of water and power in accordance with such rules as may be made in this behalf by the Board;
Maintenance of canals and other works common to both the states of Karnataka And Andhra Pradesh;
Maintenance of the dam and Reservoir of the project;
Granting of lease of fisheries in the reservoir in the canals:
Proper utilization of land acquired for the purpose of the project; and
Any other function incidental to or connected with the function specified in above clauses.
In the discharge of its assigned functions, the Board exercises power of state Government .Board makes its own rules for the conduct of its own business .The Board appoints a whole time secretary .
©Copyright 2008 all rights reserved Designing and Developed by : MicroB Software